High School Honor Bands

Audition Results

> 2020-21 Ensemble/Chair Placements
> 2020-21 NBDA / OkMEA 2nd Round PASS ROSTER 

Audition Etudes & Scales

> 2020-21 OkMEA First Round / NBDA HS Audition Etudes 

Scales are not required at the district level audition. The scale requirement applies to the December 2nd/Final Round auditions. Scales do not have to be memorized. Students who audition in a finals only room will play scales, prepared etudes, and sight-reading during the course of their audition. Students auditioning in a prelim room will play their required etude cuts and scales in the preliminary audition.  Students advancing to finals will only perform the required etude cuts and sight-reading in their finals audition. Scales are titled using INSTRUMENT KEY rather than concert pitch. Auditioning students will perform any one of four possible sets of scale etudes, each containing two major scales and one chromatic scale. Students will enter the audition room, draw at random to determine which of the four scale sets is to be played, and perform that set.

Download 2020-21 Scale Sets Packet

Set 1: A major–Db major–chromatic
Set 2: D major–Gb major–chromatic
Set 3: G major–B major–chromatic
Set 4: C major–E major–chromatic

> 2020-21 OkMEA 2nd Round ETUDES (published on Nov. 7, 2020)

> See OkMEA Website for more information

Audition Enrollment, Fees, and Deadline

Enroll Online

FEE: $10 per student. Additional fee applies for doublers. Contact Treasurer Natalie Aunko for more info.  LATE FEE: $25 after TBA date, emergency week-of $50.

DEADLINE: Saturday, September 19, 2020

Audition Process Information

NBDA Auditions Chairman: Kyle Smith, Broken Arrow. email Kyle

Auditions for the 2020-2021 NBDA High School (grades 10-12) All-District Honor Band and OkMEA First-Round will be held via OpusEvent Software System. 

NBDA + OkMEA First Round Auditions Schedule:

  • October 30, 2020 – Cuts Posted
  • October 30, 2020 – District Auditions Open
  • November 5, 2020 – District Aud. Close
  • November 6, 2020 – Process for Judges
  • November 7, 2020 – District Judging
  • November 8, 2020 – Results Released

OkMEA Second/Final Round Auditions Schedule:

  • November 13, 2020 – Cuts Posted
  • November 13, 2020 – Auditions Open
  • November 19, 2020 – Auditions Close
  • November 20, 2020 – Process for Judges
  • November 21, 2020 – 2nd Round Judging (Prelims ONLY)
  • December 5, 2020 – 2nd Round Judging (FINALS)
  • December 6, 2020 – Results Released

Clinic Information

The NBDA High School honor band clinic will be held at Bartlesville High School on January 8-9, 2021.

2020-2021 1BDA High School Honor Band Clinicians & Chairpersons

Wind Ensemble

Clinician: Dr. John Zastoupil
Chair: Dr. Kelli Pence, Broken Arrow -OR- Trey Pritner, Union
Percussion Coordinator: TBA

Symphonic Band

Clinician: TBA
Chair: Alex Claussen, Bartlesville
Percussion Coordinator: TBA

FUTURE DATES: NBDA High School Honor Band Auditions & Clinics

Auditions: November 7, 2020
Clinic: January 8-9, 2021

Auditions: TBA
Clinic: January 7-8, 2022

Auditions: TBA
Clinic: January 13-14, 2023